About the John Muir Award

The John Muir Award is an environmental award that encourages people of all backgrounds to connect, enjoy and care for wild places through a structured yet adaptable scheme. The Award is not competitive but should challenge each participant. Taking part will develop an understanding of, and responsibility for, a chosen wild place or places. For some this will offer an opportunity to explore values and spirituality.

It was launched in 1997 by the John Muir Trust to:

      Promote educational, social and personal development through exploration of wild places and involvement in conservation

      Encourage an environmental agenda within youth organisations

      Ensure that social circumstances donít exclude people from opportunities to experience wild places.

John Muir Award Criteria

Four Challenges are at the heart of each John Muir Award, to achieve an Award each participant must:

Discover a wild place
Explore its wildness
Conserve - take personal responsibility
Share experiences

Participants should show enthusiasm and commitment, and have an awareness about John Muir

There are 3 levels of the Award, encouraging a progressive involvement

The same 4 challenges above are repeated for each level, with increased involvement in time, activity and ownership.

      Discovery Award (introductory level) minimum 4 days (or equivalent)

      Explorer Award (intermediate level) minimum 8 days (or equivalent)

      Conserver Award (advanced level) minimum 20 days (or equivalent) over 6 months


The John Muir Trust is the UK's leading wild land conservation charity. We believe wild places are essential, and are dedicated to protecting and enhancing them for people and wildlife



The John Muir Award is an environmental award scheme focused on wild places. It encourages awareness and responsibility for the natural environment, in a spirit of fun, adventure and exploration.

Connect, enjoy and care for wild places

The Award is open to all, and is the educational initiative of the John Muir Trust. Four Challenges are at the heart of each John Muir Award; discover - explore - conserve - share